ASW’s Entrepreneur Spotlight: Kipri Johnson, Founder of Kips Mix Bakery

Good Morning Lovelies!! It’s Friday..Woot Woot!! I hope everyone has some great things planned for the weekend. So as I mentioned last Friday, I added a new category to my blog which will highlight different entrepreneurs who have small or big businesses. Last week you all had the pleasure of meeting and getting to know the lovely LaShara Bostic of Love Child Essentials! If you didn’t get to read her feature from last week click here. Today we will focus our attention on delicious desserts that are created by the lovely and talented Kipri Johnson.

Kipri “Kip” Johnson, owner of Kip’s Mix, specializes in the production of traditional American desserts.  Kip grew up in South Florida and spent much time with her family who enjoyed cooking and baking.  In 2001, she began baking desserts for her friends and coworkers.  Now at age 38, her hobby has grown into a business selling her delicious baked goods online, and works out of Homestead, Florida.  Though her primary customers are in the South Florida, her clientele has extended along the eastern seaboard as far north as New York. Most recently, Ms. Johnson was recognized by the Small Business Administration for her accomplishments.  When she is not baking, she enjoys watching movies, reading, music, and spending time with close friends.

Time To Chat

ASW: What ignited the spark in you to start a new business venture or to make significant changes in an existing business? How did the idea for your business come about?

Honestly, I had a small desire to have my own business many years ago when I was still in college. Years later, I took a pound cake to my friend’s party. By the end of the night, her sister offered me money to bake a cake for her…and that was the spark!

ASW:  How many hours do you work a day on average?

Sun up to sun down!

ASW: How has being an entrepreneur affected your family life?

I am a single woman so I haven’t had to deal with any of those issues; however, my family as a whole has been very supportive and instrumental to my success.

ASW: What motivates you?

I get a lot of motivation from seeing the success of others. It reminds me that I can reach my goals and whatever I want is possible to have.

ASW: To what do you most attribute your success?

Strong faith in God and believing in myself.

ASW: What would say are the five key elements for starting and running a successful business?

Receptive to new ideas. The belief that you have a good product or service. Willing to sacrifice personal time to work your business. Good time and money management skills. DETERMINATION!

ASW: What makes your bakery uniquely different than other bakeries?

Living in South Florida, there is a heavy influence of the Latin and Caribbean culture. I am African-American and my family is from Florida and the Southeast. Kip’s Mix offers traditional American desserts that are not easily found in South Florida. Our sweet potato pie is the best in the state!

ASW: Where you do you see your company heading in the next 5 years?

I see myself opening a store front in Miami Dade County. I also see several new additions to my menu. I want Kip’s Mix to be the premiere dessert company schools and organizations use for fundraising.

To stay informed on what’s new on Kips Mix Like and/or follow her on Facebook Twitter! To place an order click here!

*If you shop or love certain small/big businesses and would like for them to be featured on A Sassy Woman please don’t hesitate to contact me through the “Contact” tab at the top of my blog. 

Thanks for stopping by ✌.

XoXo,

Ashley

4 comments on “ASW’s Entrepreneur Spotlight: Kipri Johnson, Founder of Kips Mix Bakery

  1. Kips pies and cakes are all that! Her little sweetie pies are small enough to be sweet finger desserts and I could eat a boatload of them! When you try them, you’ll love ’em and all the other products she offers.

Leave a Reply

