Florida’s Finest Guest Blogging Series: My Natural Hair Journey by IfreeNaturally

Hello ladies! First I would just like to thank Ms. Ashley Lorraine for allowing me to be a guest blogger. My name is India from IfreeNaturally. I have a tumblr account right now and within the next few months I am hoping to transition to more of a formal blog site. I was a little nervous about writing this blog for the ASW readers but I didn’t want to pass up the opportunity so I put the nerves to the side and started typing! Here goes….

The purpose of my tumblr account is to share information on all aspects of having natural hair, being a woman, being a mother, and being beautiful but I want my main focus to be natural hair.  I have been natural since October of 2011, which is not long at all.  I still consider myself a newbie to this natural stuff but I am loving it every step of the way!  I have learned a lot about natural hair and products and believe me it hasn’t been an easy process but I have stuck with it and gained much confidence and inspiration from both relaxed and natural hair ladies that I am subscribed to on youtube and blogs, friends with on facebook, follow on twitter, and just see in my day to day life.

I am not one of those natural girls that go around preaching to every lady I see, telling her she need to join the natural team but I do share my thoughts and feeling s about having natural hair with my friends and family when the topic surfaces.  I don’t believe every woman should have natural hair and nothing else but I do believe that every woman needs to be confident and love themselves no matter their hair type, body size, or skin color.  I like the quote, “Life is not about finding yourself but life is about creating yourself.”  Create who you want to be and who you want to be perceived as, which should be A BEAUTIFUL WOMAN no matter what.

*Steps off of mini soap box* Now back natural hair, below is a compilation of photos of a few natural hair women who wear their natural hair in the spotlight of America daily. I think these natural hair women represent the natural hair community in a beautiful way.

But the rich and famous are not the only ones who wear their natural hair well , us everyday women do a beautiful job as well.  The collage below shows ordinary natural hair women who are extraordinary in their own way.

Below: pics of me with relaxed hair, transitioning hair, and natural hair a month after big chop!

I am enjoying my natural hair journey thus far and whether you are natural or not I hope you enjoyed your read! Click here to follow me on Tumblr. Also, I am on twitter and you can follow me @Simplee_Ifree .

::ASW Speaking:: I loved this post. I am very proud that you put your nerves aside and decided to be one of my guest bloggers for the week. I feel as though many women will be inspired to go natural and will refer to your blog for new hairstyles and products. Keep up the great work hunny!

Be beautiful naturally,

Ifree

Later Loves!

18 comments on “Florida’s Finest Guest Blogging Series: My Natural Hair Journey by IfreeNaturally

  1. Beautiful quote. I’m glad that you submitted your post. I’ve been Natural since April 2005 and I enjoy reading about those in their first year or two because it reminds me why I left relaxers alone on the first place. Following you now in twitter and tumblr.!

  2. Woo-hoo natural hair! Ya’ll know I am undercover natural maybe I should have started out with a TWA and learned to work with my curls that way. This bush on my head is serious business! Thank goodness for lace fronts.

    Great post India and I love your hair with the color in the front.

    • thanks! I wish I had all that you have! Its gonna take me a long time to get there, can’t wait to see it out in a style (hint hint) lol

  3. I love this post!! I’m currently about 5 months from the last relaxer that I had. I’m trying to stay away from it… but it keeps calling me! lol! I want to be natural. I know I’m close!

    • Step away from the white cream! Lol thank you! You can do it, I never thought I would be this far into it.

  4. What a great blog post !! You have always had beautiful hair & I can’t wait to see your natural strands flourish!! Go India!!

    • Thanks manda! You are so sweet! I’m learning with ur help of course! More vids please! 🙂

  5. I’m so inspired!! I’m transitioning…..or maybe not. It’s been almost a year so I guess I’m beyond transitioning, LOL. I have yet to do the “scary chop” so my hair is enjoying a serious break through sew-in heaven 😉 But I love this post hunni!

  6. Great post. I love a natural hair girl that understands the beauty in all hair types and that diversity is key. I am glad that you found the courage to write.

    • Thanks Ariel! The naturals that are all “natural hair or die” irk me. Lol everything ain’t for everybody and that is OK!

Leave a Reply

