It’s time to make a CHANGE…

Good Morning my lovely readers!!! I plan to do a three part post about changing the way that you live!! SooooOooo…A few months ago I went on a small diet because I wanted to lose 8 pounds. I was active in the gym but I was not experiencing the results that I wanted. Don’t get me wrong it is very important to go to the gym but if a person is exercising and NOT eating the right foods then they aren’t going to see the results that they want. That is what happened to me. I thought that I could eat whatever I wanted for breakfast, lunch and dinner and still lose the weight. Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way. So I started to pay attention to my caloric intake as well as the amount of sugar/fat that was contained in the foods that I ate.

So was I able to lose those 8 pounds in a month???? YES!! I would like to share with you all the different foods that I eat for breakfast and lunch. In the next two posts that focus on CHANGE I will discuss dinner recipes/options and tips on exercising!

Kellogg’s Special K bars ($2.78) are so yummy and low on calories. 90 CALORIES!! I usually eat one of these in the morning or the 100 Calorie YoCrunch Yogurt-Cheesecake With Graham cookie pieces ($2.50-$2.75). Both are enjoyable and great morning starters! Both of these items can be found at your local Walmart, Publix, Target, etc.

I did a post a few days back about how a cup of coffee brings me joy, click here to view the post! Well I try not to have coffee every morning because it isn’t the healthiest drink to have once you add all the works-Cream, Sugar,Splenda, etc. If you are an avid coffee drinker I would suggest replacing:

I’ve  never been a huge fan of salad’s until I started buying these!! The Ready Pac salad bowls are priced at $3.00 at Walmart and $4.00 at Publix! It is a huge difference in price so I make sure that I purchase all of them from Walmart if they are available. One of the best things about these salads are that they tell you how many calories are in each one. I ♥ it!

So I do enjoy carrots but I have never been to keen on eating them on a regular. Since it is time to change up the way I do things in 2012 why not try and eat carrots more often. I will tell you all how that goes next time.

Fruit! Fruit! Fruit! We all should eat fruit daily. My favorite fruits are oranges and mangos! The bad part is that in order to eat them you have to spend time peeling off the skin. Ugh! Irritating! But the end result is amazing.

Pretzels are a great snack alternative to chips or cookies. These Butter snaps ($3.99) are addicting. I’m sorry but I cannot stand to eat those dry pretzels with no salt or anything on them. Even though these may contain a few more calories than plain pretzels but as long you don’t over do it with the servings then there isn’t anything wrong with enjoying them. Next, the Brownie Bites($2.50) which contain only 150 calories per bag!! My last snack I want to mention is Welch’s Fruit Snacks (80 packs for $8.99 at Bj’s/Costco’s)! I know some of you have children who are in school and you may buy cartoon character fruit snacks that contain sooo much sugar! Instead of buying those snacks with the cute faces on the front you should look into purchasing the Welch’s fruit snacks instead. I love them lol.

5 tips on eating right during lunch time:

  1. Pack your lunch!! We all hate packing our lunches but it is much healthier and cheaper if you do.
  2. Eating at McDonalds,Wingstop,Burger King,Taco Bell,Sonic, etc. is not going to help you stay fit and healthy. Save those quick food places for last minute dinner meals or for the weekends.
  3. Switch up your lunch menu each week. Some times I have salads for a couple of days and some days I have soups.
  4. Try to limit the amount of TV dinners that you eat. They contain so many milligrams of Sodium, sugar and fat!
  5. Don’t eat big big lunches that can make you sleepy and decrease your productivity after you finish (frequent small meals are better b/c they  keep your metabolism active). Save those lunches for special occasions.

Well folks, I hope that I was able to offer some advice on ways to change up your breakfast and lunch eating habits in 2012. If I come across any more information I will be more than happy to share it with you all. Have a terrific Tuesday and thanks for stopping by ✌.

Xoxo,

Ashley

10 comments on “It’s time to make a CHANGE…

  1. Great post with great tip… I know I want to get right and fit in 2012, so I will definitely be trying out some of these tips!!

  2. Great post with very useful tips… Since I am definitely trying to make a change in 2012… This tip may just jump start my fitness kick… 🙂

  3. Great post! I pack all my food the night before my work day so I have no excuses…breakfast lunch, and my snacks. I also take my own water, distilled is what I prefer to drink. If I don’t have any left overs for lunch I keep cans of organic soup at my desk. I don’t trust sugar alternatives so I just stick to organic raw cane sugar but limit the amount I use. Oh and I just recently tried unsweetened peanut butter, it’s so good and has lots of protein. I can’t wait to read you other two parts!

  4. great tips! i am doing the same thing as far as eating healthier and exercising. its a lifestyle change for me. i do love those special k bars!! i wish you the best 🙂

    ~nic

  5. This is such a great inspirational post & much needed… Although many view me as being skinny… (which I hate that word) – I try and tell peeps it’s NOT about being slim/skinny it’s about EATING healthy & staying healthy! I have def changed my eating habits bcuz my husband suffer from diabetes which has cause my household to change the way we EAT & THINK! Thank you for sharing… ~Cheers to a Happy & Healthy New Years!

    Xoxo
    Lynn

  6. I am definitely inspired by this post. My family has also decided to have better eating habits, primarily for health reasons. I’m gonna eat my raw carrots tomorrow. Yay!!!!!

  7. I love trying new ways to eat healthy…I love this post!!! Change in eating habits is the key to a longer and healthier life!

  8. Great tips. I live by the Special K bars (Strawberry) and 100 calorie packs for snacks. Packing your own lunch also saves good money :-).

Leave a Reply

