ASW’s Featured Guest: Singer/Songwriter Zarina Taylor

Good Morning my lovely readers!! I would like to for you all to get to know one my fellow USF alumni’s and aspiring singer-songwriter, Zarina Alice Taylor. Zarina was born October 14, 1984 in Nairobi kenya and was raised in Tampa, FL. Zarina moved to New York in 2010 to pursue her music career. At a TV show she attended, she was introduced to Tomas where he fell in love with her unique voice and singing style. Tomas produced Zarina’s first commercial releases, “Maybe That Someone Could Be You” (which was submitted for a Grammy nomination) and “If I Could Be Your Girl”. Both of these songs can be found on the September 2011 TE! Music release, TE! Presents Rhythm for the Runway II

Interview with Zarina Taylor

ASW:  When did you first start singing?

Zarina: I have been singing for as long I remember.

ASW: What did your family do to encourage you?

I have they’re full support. My mom paid for vocal lessons, they been a very big help financially. (travel expenses, the Niko Ready project)

ASW: Who else in your family sings?

My Grandfather George W. Senoga-Zake,helped compose the national anthem of Kenya, and was a professor in music. My grandfather not only stressed the importance of education but also the importance of finding joy in playing a musical instrument.

My half sister Nazizi is a female MC in East Africa.

ASW: Who are your musical inspirations?

Brandy, Beyonce, Whitney Houston, Aaliyah, Michael Jackson.

ASW: What kind of music do you listen to today?

R&B, Hip hop, pop,Reggae, Alternative, some country, Neo- soul and classical.

ASW: Have you performed at different events?

Yes- I have sung at church, of course the talents shows, I did a performance on the Manhattan public Access TV this past January and I have a show coming up Dec. 17 in Munich Germany.

ASW: Who would you most like to open for?

Brandy and/or Beyonce

ASW: If you weren’t singing, what would you be doing?

I would probably still want to be in the industry, perhaps in the background- maybe a manager or something with marketing.

ASW: Do you play any instruments?

Yes- The flute

ASW: Do you enjoying writing music and/or lyrics?

Yes I do.

Now that you all have gotten a chance to learn more about Zarina Taylor I do hope that you will support her by listening and purchasing her her first single off of Niko Ready. It is available for sale on i-Tunes, Rhapsody, and Amazon.com.

Click on the links below to access the songs.

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/cant-mess-wid-we-feat.-nazizi/id480182994

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/maybe-that-someone-could-be/id477272499

Have a great Monday and thanks for stopping by ✌.

xoxo,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

